“Proud Boys leader Ethan Michael Nordean was sentenced to 18 years in prison on Sept. 1, based in part on a terrorism enhancement for tearing down a fence on U.S. Capitol grounds on Jan. 6, 2021.

United States District Judge Timothy Kelly gave Mr. Nordean a harsher sentence than three of his co-defendants, but it still fell short of the recommendation from the Department of Justice by nine years. The 18-years matched the record Jan. 6 sentence given to Oath Keepers founder Elmer Stewart Rhodes III on May 25.

In earlier sentencing hearings on Aug. 31 and Sept. 1, Judge Kelly sentenced Proud Boys Joseph Randall Biggs to 17 years, Zachary Rehl to 15 years, and Dominic Pezzola to 10 years in prison. Prosecutors sought 33, 30 and 20 years in those cases, respectively.